Entrepreneurs + Artists = Mental Prep for Spark Club 360

Entrepreneura person who has possession of a new enterprise, venture or idea and assumes significant accountability for the inherent risks and the outcome. He or she is an ambitious leader who combines land, labor, and capital to often create and market new goods or services.

Two recent articles inspired me to mull entrepreneurship in relation to artists over a little more in preparation for the Jan 21 presentation at Spark Club 360.  One by Gail Sachson on the Art & Seek Blog and the other by Hugh MacLeod on Gapingvoid.  (maybe on my Feb trip to Marfa, I’ll finally catch up with that guy, sheesh.)

As a ‘serial starter of things’, I think this is why I’ve found myself in the arts niche as a non-artist.  In some way my passions lie in other areas, but with artists I’m with people who get me and I get them.  I mean aren’t artists micro-entrepreneurs every time they begin a new work?  For every decent finished piece aren’t there hundreds of hours of practice, failure and intuition?  I have frequently said that my “art” is creating socially conscious organizations, events, revenue streams while wrestling with the constraints of time, money and sustainability.  Artists with that same socially conscious tug to be more and have more impact on the world are naturally attracted to Spark Club. We have much to learn from each other.

Looking forward to seeing everyone on the 21st! – Sarah Jane Semrad

Reblog this post [with Zemanta]
Tagged , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Entrepreneurs + Artists = Mental Prep for Spark Club 360

  1. Sergio Compean says:

    Both artists and entrepreneurs spend a lot of time thinking about how to deliver new experiences to make some sort of impact on the world whether it be more utilitarian or purlely aesthetic.

  2. John KIm says:

    Sarah, You ARE an artist…photography is an art. You have an amazing eye for capturing the details. I enjoy hearing from you and seeing your amazing ventures blossom and grow. All the best, John Kim

  3. John Kim I sure do miss you. Come back to Dallas. Re: artist? I’m a hack.

Leave a Reply

